Azelle Rodney

I’m very preoccupied with the Azelle Rodney case.  Opinion is polarized:  “One less armed drug-dealer on the streets”; “Executed by the police”.

I hold neither of these opinions and think that Azelle Rodney shouldn’t have gone out armed and that the police officer shouldn’t have fired when he did.

I’m so sick of society falling over itself to apologise to armed criminals, or their families.  I take no pleasure in this fella’s death.  We could always just try letting armed drug dealers have their way.  See how we like that.

I understand the importance of having strict rules regarding use of firearms by police.  Some have suggested the officer was racist-  that he had an irrational fear of black people.  Perhaps he had a wholly-rational fear of people with guns.

Leave a comment